Fr. Timothy Radcliffe, OP

Fr. Timothy Radcliffe, OP

I cannot remember how I got introduced to Father Radcliffe, but, definitely, it wasn’t a long time ago–maybe just a year or two.

I thought that the time of great contemporary theologians is gone. I thought our age would not and could not produce anymore Rahners, Congars, and Lonergans. Then along came an article by Father Radcliffe. It piqued my interest as who this man is, what other people say about him, what subject matters interest him, what are his insights, what is his style of writing and delivery. In a sense, I became a prospective fan.

I really am juggling a lot of things on my hands now. They do not afford me a lot of time to read, dwell on metaphysical matters, study, and write about them. The mechanism of reading and teaching it is what takes most of the little time I now have for intellectual pursuits. I also try to observe a little bit closer the economy because its condition inevitably affects one of my primary concerns. And so, I add this link so that Radcliffe can somehow have place in the periphery of my attention. Like a book in a shelf bought for that time when its owner finds time for leisure, he will be there for me to discover, his insights to be savored as they are supposed to be in quiet and prayer.

About julesphilip
a teacher who is still in the process of discerning whether he'll stay in this way of life, answer a lifelong call to become a diocesan priest, or take on the responsibility of being a steward of his parents' legacy. may his experiences assist him in making a decision for the greater love for God.

Leave a Reply

