Memories of 2009

The last entries that I made in the journal were written down days before my mommy died on June 11, 2009. So many things happened since then and they made 2009 the worst year of my adult life. I wish that I would never experience so many heartaches again in a single year.

I was “lucky” that Mommy’s condition worsened at the time when there was a fear of a global flue virus. The opening day of classes in Xavier was postponed to the 15th. The school’s decision allowed me to stay in Cabanatuan to gather money, withdraw some more from the bank, take it to Manila in an ambulance in order to fetch Mommy whose condition has turned really bad. She suffered, I learned when I arrived in Manila, some sort of a stroke that paralyzed half of her body. We will never be hearing her well-enunciated words again.

Daddy, Nana Liza, Joan Evangelista, a student of mine at the Good Samaritan, and I took Mommy home on the 8th, nighttime. I was planning to leave for Manila on the morning of the 9th when my sleep was interrupted by Nana Lita and Nana Eliza because Mommy was spitting blood. I groggily woke up and saw her seated on her bed in her rearranged room–one of the things that I did in order for us to take care of her at home. With Nana Lita, I removed her aparador from the room that weekend. I did not know what to do that early morning of Tuesday when I saw her being supported by Daddy who was beside her. Daddy said that Mommy allowed him to stay beside her the remaining hours of that night. I do not remember any feeling. I did not panic. Maybe because, for me, we have accomplished what Mommy wanted: that she be discharged from St. Luke’s and taken home to Cabanatuan. I needed to go back to Manila then because of work. Anyway, Kuya was arriving by daytime. Their classes which started as schedule was altogether cancelled because of a confirmed case of swine flu in their school.

About julesphilip
a teacher who is still in the process of discerning whether he'll stay in this way of life, answer a lifelong call to become a diocesan priest, or take on the responsibility of being a steward of his parents' legacy. may his experiences assist him in making a decision for the greater love for God.

Leave a Reply

